Skip navigation
Tanz Kongress 2022 | Mainz | Sharing potentials

But Then, We’ll Disappear (I’d Prefer Not To)

By: Frédérick Gravel / Carte Blanche | Tickets for non-accredited persons via www.staatstheater-mainz.com
Performance Artistic programme
Sat 18.6. | 19:30 to 20:45 | Großes Haus – Staatstheater Mainz
Language
Accessibility
EN
Barrierefrei Induktionsschleife

Großes Haus

Großes Haus – Staatstheater Mainz
Gutenbergplatz 7
55116 Mainz
Route (Google Maps)

CHANGE OF PROGRAMME

Last-minute change: The technical team of the production But Then, We'll Disappear (I'd Prefer Not To) could unfortunately not make it due to illness - but the dancers are here! And we are thrilled that with true festival spirit they have decided to dance anyway, so that the performance does not have to be cancelled. On Saturday evening in the Großes Haus, there will be a unique event: Carte Blanche will present a 45-minute showcase of the production in a reduced stage setting, followed by a 30-minute talk with three of the ensemble's dancers, the artistic director of Carte Blanche, Annabelle Bonnery, and the dance director of tanzmainz and programme director of the Tanzkongress, Honne Dohrmann, about the production and the way Carte Blanche works.

About But Then We'll Dispappear (I'd Prefer Not To)

A key element of this performance from Carte Blanche is the meeting between people. It questions how we meet others – and shows how difficult it is to find one’s place in a community. Behind the title ‘But Then We’ll Disappear (I’d Prefer Not To)’ lies a hidden desire to emphasise the individual’s role in a world full of contradictions where guilt and celebration are two sides of the same coin, in hopes that there is a plan for everything.

Canadian Frédérick Gravel takes a cinematic and musical approach in his style, and is known for turning the structures of choreography on their head. He sees a choreographic idea as a melody, and his work can be compared to a concert where he composes lines that the dancers perform in their own voices and in their own key. For Gravel, a performance is born in the meeting between people, and the stage becomes an arena for an artistic and social experiment in which characters are developed and erased. A creation which gives high individual responsibility to each dancer.

In co-production with Bergen International Festival 2021

The performance will be followed by an audience discussion.

This performance involves high volume.


Credits:

Choreography & lighting design: Frédérick Gravel
Music: Philippe Brault
Costumes: Indrani Balgobin
Choreographic assistance: Jamie Wright
Original songs: Frédérick Gravel

Dancers: Ole Martin Meland, Mathias Stoltenberg, Caroline Eckly, Adrian Bartczak, Dawid Lorenc, Max Makowski, Aslak Aune Nygård, Nadege Kubwayo, Timothy Bartlett, Anne Lise Rønne, Vilja Kwasny, Lin Van Kaam, Daniel Mariblanca

Zum Hauptinhalt

Diese Website verwendet Cookies für eine optimale Benutzererfahrung.
Lesen Sie unsere Cookie-Erklärung

Tanz Kongress 2022 | Mainz | Sharing potentials

But Then, We’ll Disappear (I’d Prefer Not To)

Von: Frédérick Gravel / Carte Blanche | Tickets für Nicht-Akkreditierte über www.staatstheater-mainz.com
Performance Künstlerisches Programm
Sa. 18.6. | 19:30 bis 20:45 | Großes Haus – Staatstheater Mainz
Sprache
Barrierefreiheit
EN
Barrierefrei Induktionsschleife

Großes Haus

Großes Haus – Staatstheater Mainz
Gutenbergplatz 7
55116 Mainz
Route (Google Maps)

PROGRAMMÄNDERUNG

Kurzfristige Änderung: Das technische Team der Produktion But Then, We’ll Disappear (I’d Prefer Not To) konnte leider aufgrund von Erkrankungen nicht anreisen – aber die Tänzer:innen sind da! Und wir sind begeistert, dass sie sich mit echtem Festivalspirit entschieden haben, auf jeden Fall dennoch zu tanzen, sodass die Vorstellung nicht ausfallen muss. Samstagabend im Großen Haus wird nun eine einmalige Veranstaltung zu erleben sein: Carte Blanche zeigen eine 45-minütige Werkschau der Produktion in reduziertem Bühnenbild, im Anschluss gibt es ein 30-minütiges Gespräch mit drei der Tänzer:innen des Ensembles, der Künstlerischen Leiterin von Carte Blanche, Annabelle Bonnery, sowie dem Tanzdirektor von tanzmainz und Programmleiter des Tanzkongress, Honne Dohrmann, über die Produktion und die Arbeitsweise von Carte Blanche.


Über But Then We'll Disappear

Die Begegnung zwischen Menschen steht im Zentrum der Performance. Sie fragt, wie wir Anderen gegenübertreten und zeigt, wie schwierig es ist, seinen Platz in einer Gemeinschaft zu finden. Hinter dem Titel But Then, We'll Disappear (I'd Prefer Not To) verbirgt sich die Sehnsucht, die Rolle des Individuums in einer Welt voller Widersprüche hervorzuheben, in der Schuldgefühle und Freude zwei Seiten derselben Medaille sind – in der Hoffnung, dass es für alles einen Plan gibt.

Der Kanadier Frédérick Gravel verfolgt mit seinem Stil einen filmisch-musikalischen Ansatz, der bekannte choreografische Strukturen auf den Kopf stellt. Für ihn ist eine choreografische Idee wie eine Melodie. Sein Tanzstück kann mit einem Konzert verglichen werden, bei dem die von ihm komponierten Melodien von den Tänzer:innen mit ihrer eigenen Stimme und in ihrer eigenen Tonart vorgetragen werden. Für Gravel entsteht eine Performance durch die Begegnung zwischen Menschen. Die Bühne wird zum Schauplatz eines künstlerischen und gesellschaftlichen Experiments, in dem Charaktere entwickelt und wieder gelöscht werden.

In Koproduktion mit dem Bergen International Festival 2021

Im Anschluss an die Vorstellung findet ein Publikumsgespräch statt.

In dieser Vorstellung kommt hohe Lautstärke zum Einsatz.

Credits:

Choreografie & Lichtdesign: Frédérick Gravel
Musik: Philippe Brault
Kostüme: Indrani Balgobin
Choreografische Assistenz: Jamie Wright
Original-Songs: Frédérick Gravel

Tänzer:innen: Ole Martin Meland, Mathias Stoltenberg, Caroline Eckly, Adrian Bartczak, Dawid Lorenc, Max Makowski, Aslak Aune Nygård, Nadege Kubwayo, Timothy Bartlett, Anne Lise Rønne, Vilja Kwasny, Lin Van Kaam, Daniel Mariblanca