Skip navigation
Tanz Kongress 2022 | Mainz | Sharing potentials

El-la

By and with: Yansi Méndez Bautista
Performance body-landscape Artistic programme
Thu 16.6. | 17:30 to 17:45 | Tritonplatz – Staatstheater Mainz
Language
Accessibility
EN
Barrierefrei

Tritonplatz

Tritonplatz – Staatstheater Mainz
Tritonplatz
55116 Mainz
Route (Google Maps)

The dramatic performance El-la expresses the longing to share a feeling that is both personal and universal – at a time when the world is being shaken by the continuing pandemic, by crises and uncertainties. According to C.G. Jung, bodies are in search of their physical, mental, emotional and spiritual balance.

Inspired by this, Yansi Méndez examines her personal story in this autobiographical work. Born with a physical disability, in her early years she could barely walk and relied on orthopaedic aids. Today she has unrestricted movement and became a dancer despite her medical prognosis.

In El-la Yansi Méndez uses her old orthopaedic walking aids as a symbol of individual physicality, vulnerability and strong willpower. Her piece shows that even the loss of inner and outer balance can be a part of our existence. El-la is a declaration of love of the vulnerable body in all its facets.

Credits:

Choreography and Performance: Yansi Méndez Bautista

Zum Hauptinhalt

Diese Website verwendet Cookies für eine optimale Benutzererfahrung.
Lesen Sie unsere Cookie-Erklärung

Tanz Kongress 2022 | Mainz | Sharing potentials

El-la

Von und mit: Yansi Méndez Bautista
Performance body-landscapes Künstlerisches Programm
Do. 16.6. | 17:30 bis 17:45 | Tritonplatz – Staatstheater Mainz
Sprache
Barrierefreiheit
EN
Barrierefrei

Tritonplatz

Tritonplatz – Staatstheater Mainz
Tritonplatz
55116 Mainz
Route (Google Maps)

Die szenische Performance El-la drückt die Sehnsucht aus, ein zugleich persönliches und universelles Gefühl zu teilen – in Zeiten, in denen die Welt von der andauernden Pandemie, von Krisen und Ungewissheiten erschüttert wird. Nach C.G. Jung sind Körper auf der Suche nach ihrem körperlichen, geistigen, emotionalen und spirituellen Gleichgewicht.

Angeregt davon setzt sich Yansi Méndez Bautista in dieser autobiografisch geprägten Arbeit mit ihrer eigenen Geschichte auseinander: Geboren mit einer körperlichen Behinderung, konnte sie in den ersten Jahren ihres Lebens kaum laufen und war auf orthopädische Gehhilfen angewiesen. Entgegen der damaligen ärztlichen Prognose bewegt sie sich heute ohne Einschränkungen und wurde Tänzerin.

In El-la nutzt Yansi Méndez Bautista ihre alten Gehhilfen als Symbol für individuelle Körperlichkeit, Verwundbarkeit und den starken eigenen Willen. Ihr Stück zeigt, dass auch der Verlust des inneren und äußeren Gleichgewichts ein Teil unserer Existenz sein kann. El-la ist eine Liebeserklärung an den verletzlichen Körper in all seinen Facetten.

Credits:

Choreografie und Performance: Yansi Méndez Bautista