Skip navigation
Tanz Kongress 2022 | Mainz | Sharing potentials

Fronteriza

By and with: Nuri Gutés & Daniella Santibáñez
Performance body-landscape Artistic programme
Sat 18.6. | 13:15 to 13:30 | Malakoff-Terrasse – Outdoor
Language
Accessibility
EN
Barrierefrei

Malakoff-Terrasse

Malakoff-Terrasse – Outdoor
Malakoff-Terrasse
55116 Mainz
Route (Google Maps)

Fronteriza is a dance that takes place after an audiovisual project called by the same name. The project was created in June 2020 during the total lockdown as a result of the global pandemic. We carry the dance to the streets despite all rules as a manifestation of what is alive! We perceive the textures of the "outside" in its walls, floors and ceilings, meet its forgotten nature and transfer the intimacy of the "inside" into the public space. We dance in dialogue with another body as a way to reach small certainties and cross those borders.

Currently, Fronteriza is a public site-specific installation which explores the relationship between the physical or daily life and the apotropaic by the natural reading of space through the meeting of two bodies. The term "apotropaic" derives from the Greek verb αποτρέπειν (apotrépein 'get away') and is defined as having the power to avert evil influences or bad luck. It refers to a cultural phenomenon to purify (catharsis) and ward off evil spirits through a ritual action or object in order to find some security in the face of the unknown.

In Fronteriza we use this notion as a "key" in order to access a movement language in which the ephemeral and the pre-established, the subtle and the material engage in dialogue through gestures, actions and dance. This creates a ritualised meeting of two bodies, which also mark experiences, generations and temporalities.

Credits:

Choreography and Performance: Nuri Gutés and Daniella Santibáñez

Zum Hauptinhalt

Diese Website verwendet Cookies für eine optimale Benutzererfahrung.
Lesen Sie unsere Cookie-Erklärung

Tanz Kongress 2022 | Mainz | Sharing potentials

Fronteriza

Von und mit: Nuri Gutés & Daniella Santibáñez
Performance body-landscape Künstlerisches Programm
Sa. 18.6. | 13:15 bis 13:30 | Malakoff-Terrasse – Outdoor
Sprache
Barrierefreiheit
EN
Barrierefrei

Malakoff-Terrasse

Malakoff-Terrasse – Outdoor
Malakoff-Terrasse
55116 Mainz
Route (Google Maps)

Die Choreografie Fronteriza folgte dem gleichnamigen audiovisuellen Projekt Fronteriza, einer filmischen Erfahrung, die im Juni 2020 während des Corona-Lockdowns entstanden ist. Allen Regeln zum Trotz bringen wir den Tanz auf die Straße, als Manifestation dessen, was lebendig ist! Wir nehmen die Texturen des „Draußen“, der Wände, des Bodens, der Decke wahr, begegnen die vergessene Natur und übertragen die Intimität des „Drinnen“ in den öffentlichen Raum. Wir tanzen im Dialog mit einem anderen Körper – als Möglichkeit, kleine Gewissheiten zu erlangen und Grenzen zu überschreiten.

Derzeit ist Fronteriza ein ortsspezifisches Tanzstück. Es verbindet das Alltägliche und das Apotropäischen aus einer unmittelbaren Wahrnehmung des Raumes durch das Zusammentreffen zweier Körper. Der Begriff „apotropäisch“ leitet sich vom griechischen Verb αποτρέπειν (apotrépein, ‚weggehen‘) ab. Er bezeichnet ein kulturelles Phänomen, das zum Ausdruck gebracht wird, um durch eine rituelle Handlung zu reinigen (Katharsis) und böse Geister abzuwehren, weil man angesichts des Ungewissen und Unbekannten etwas Sicherheit finden möchte.
In Fronteriza verwenden wir diesen Begriff als „Schlüssel“, um Zugang zu einer Körpersprache zu finden, in der das Vergängliche und das Feststehende, das Subtile und das Materielle durch Gesten, Handlungen und Tanz in einen Dialog treten. Dadurch entsteht eine ritualisierte Begegnung zweier Körper, die auch Erfahrungen, Generationen und Zeitlichkeiten markieren.

Credits:

Choreografie und Performance: Nuri Gutés und Daniella Santibáñez

Participants