Skip navigation
Tanz Kongress 2022 | Mainz | Sharing potentials

Sphynx (UA)

By: Rafaële Giovanola | With: Ensemble tanzmainz | Tickets for non-accredited persons via www.staatstheater-mainz.com
Performance Artistic programme
Thu 16.6. | 20:00 to 21:20 | Großes Haus – Staatstheater Mainz
Language
Accessibility
EN
Audiodeskription Barrierefrei Induktionsschleife

Großes Haus

Großes Haus – Staatstheater Mainz
Gutenbergplatz 7
55116 Mainz
Route (Google Maps)

"What is the name of this being? It appears in the morning on four legs, at noon on two, and in the evening on three." (The Riddle of the Sphinx from the Oedipus Saga)

Walking, running, staggering; at first glance what seems to be familiar ways of human locomotion, begins to stray from the aesthetically harmonious art form that we associate with dance. As early as the 1960s, performative artists have been researching this prototype of human motion as a source for their artistic practice. Theatre and dance artists such as Samuel Beckett, Steve Paxton, and Trisha Brown have experimented with gaits and step patterns - and Rafaële Giovanola continues down this line. For quite some time now, she has been artistically exploring the limits of the human condition, asking in a very elementary and physical way, the question of what actually constitutes us. Her choreographies, spectacular and extremely demanding for dancers, have received widespread recognition. Her work Vis Motrix received one of the 15 coveted invitations to the Tanzplattform Deutschland in 2020. Sphynx, developed with the ensemble of tanzmainz, will promise unusual perspectives and high intensity.

This performance involves high volume and very high tones.


Audio description and haptic access tour

For this performance, Tanzkongress 2022, in cooperation with Gravity Access Services Berlin, offers a live audio description and a haptic access tour, so-called Touch Tour for a blind and visually impaired audience. The Touch Tour starts one hour before the performance. Please call +49 6131 2851 222 to register in advance and reserve a headset.


Credits:

Choreography and stage: Rafaële Giovanola
Dramaturgy: Rainald Endrass
Choreographic assistance: Alvaro Esteban
Costumes: Mathilde Grebot
Music: Tiago Cerqueira
Lighting design: Wil Frikken

With: Madeline Harms, Daria Hlinkina, Bojana Mitrović, Amy Lim, Polina Nikolaeva, Nora Monsecour, Milena Wiese, Paul Elie, Federico Longo, Jaume Luque Parellada, Alberto Terribile, Louis Thuriot, John Wannehag, Thomas Van Praet.

Zum Hauptinhalt

Diese Website verwendet Cookies für eine optimale Benutzererfahrung.
Lesen Sie unsere Cookie-Erklärung

Tanz Kongress 2022 | Mainz | Sharing potentials

Sphynx (UA)

Von: Rafaële Giovanola | Mit: Ensemble tanzmainz | Tickets für Nicht-Akkreditierte über www.staatstheater-mainz.com
Performance Künstlerisches Programm
Do. 16.6. | 20:00 bis 21:20 | Großes Haus – Staatstheater Mainz
Sprache
Barrierefreiheit
EN
Audiodeskription Barrierefrei Induktionsschleife

Großes Haus

Großes Haus – Staatstheater Mainz
Gutenbergplatz 7
55116 Mainz
Route (Google Maps)

„Was ist der Name dieses Wesens, es erscheint am Morgen auf vier, am Mittag auf zwei und am Abend auf drei Beinen.“ (Das Rätsel der Sphinx aus der Ödipus-Sage)

Gehen, laufen, staksen, taumeln: Was uns vertraute menschliche Fortbewegungsweisen sind, scheint mit unserer Vorstellung von der ästhetisch-harmonischen Kunstform Tanz auf den ersten Blick wenig zu tun zu haben. Doch schon in den 1960er Jahren entdeckten die performativen Künste diesen Prototyp menschlicher Fortbewegung als Ausgangsmaterial für sich. Theater- und Tanzschaffende wie Samuel Beckett, Steve Paxton oder Trisha Brown begannen mit Gangarten und Schrittmustern zu experimentieren. Rafaële Giovanola führt diese Linie fort. Schon seit Längerem setzt sie sich künstlerisch mit den Grenzen des Menschseins auseinander und stellt ganz elementar und physisch die Frage, was uns eigentlich ausmacht. Ihre oft spektakulären – und Tänzer:innen extrem fordernden – Choreografien erfuhren weitreichende Anerkennung. Zuletzt erhielt ihr Stück Vis Motrix eine der 15 begehrten Einladungen zur Tanzplattform Deutschland. Sphynx, erarbeitet mit dem Ensemble von tanzmainz, bietet ungewöhnliche Perspektiven und hohe Intensität.

In dieser Vorstellung kommen hohe Lautstärke und sehr hohe Töne zum Einsatz.

Audiodeskription und Tastführung

Für diese Vorstellung bietet der Tanzkongress 2022 in Zusammenarbeit mit Gravity Access Services Berlin eine Live-Audiodeskription und haptische Tastführung, sog. Touch Tour für ein blindes und sehbehindertes Publikum an.

Credits:

Choreografie und Bühne: Rafaële Giovanola
Dramaturgie: Rainald Endrass
Choreografische Assistenz: Alvaro Esteban
Kostüme: Mathilde Grebot
Musik: Tiago Cerqueira
Licht-Design: Wil Frikken

Mit: Madeline Harms, Daria Hlinkina, Bojana Mitrović, Amy Lim, Polina Nikolaeva, Nora Monsecour, Milena Wiese, Paul Elie, Federico Longo, Jaume Luque Parellada, Alberto Terribile,Louis Thuriot, John Wannehag, Thomas Van Praet