Skip navigation
Tanz Kongress 2022 | Mainz | Sharing potentials

Tubuh Dang Tubuh Dut

By and with: Ayu Permata Sari
Performance Asian Connections through Bodily Expressions Artistic programme
Sat 18.6. | 20:00 to 20:50 | Waschhaus – KUZ Kulturzentrum Mainz
Language
EN

Waschhaus

Waschhaus – KUZ Kulturzentrum Mainz
Dagobertstraße 20b
55116 Mainz
Route (Google Maps)

Dangdut, a popular form of music in Indonesia, is associated with the sexy undulating hip movement of the predominantly female singers.,. However, Ayu Permata Sari diverts her observation from the stage and ‘archives’ with her own body the movements of the mainly male audience of local dangdut clubs. She tries to read the dangdut grooves of these male audience members, which seem to be an expression of relaxation and sensuous experience. Having succeeded in embodying their moves and grooves, Ayu Permata Sari began to question what actually motivated these audiences to go to dangdut performances? She then interviewed a series of audiences, many of whom shared their main reason to go to dangdut clubs and dance was to escape the humdrum of work, home and daily life. This interview brought Ayu Permata Sari to explore the concept of 'liminoid' which occurs in the concept of liminality. As explained by Victor Turner, liminoids in modern society are often characterised by strict segregation between work, play, fun, and humans within them. This kind of liminality places the element of human willingness as an important factor to experience it or not. It can be avoided and entered voluntarily and then left to be repeated or not. Dangdut audiences who come or dance dangdut can be seen as entering the transit room (liminoid), a way for an individual to escape mundane daily problems.

Besides finding out about someone's motivation to come to the dangdut show, Ayu Permata Sari also traced the audience's background, like their work or where they lived. Their background is also very important as it influences how they move. For example, one of the dangdut audience members worked as a construction labourer and he subconsciously moved like he was hitting a nail using a hammer.

This performance involves fading light and total darkness.

Please note: This performance will take place in the "Waschhaus" at KUZ, a bar on the congress grounds to which only accredited congress participants have access. No ticket purchase or registration is required for accredited participants.

Credits:

Choreography and Performance: Ayu Permata Sari
Dramaturgy: BM. Anggana
Producer: Sekar Handayani
Musical arrangement: Jenar Kidjing

Zum Hauptinhalt

Diese Website verwendet Cookies für eine optimale Benutzererfahrung.
Lesen Sie unsere Cookie-Erklärung

Tanz Kongress 2022 | Mainz | Sharing potentials

Tubuh Dang Tubuh Dut

Von und mit: Ayu Permata Sari
Performance Asian Connections through Bodily Expressions Künstlerisches Programm
Sa. 18.6. | 20:00 bis 20:50 | Waschhaus – KUZ Kulturzentrum Mainz
Sprache
EN

KUZ

Waschhaus – KUZ Kulturzentrum Mainz
Dagobertstraße 20b
55116 Mainz
Route (Google Maps)

Dangdut, eine populäre indonesische Musikform, wird mit den wogenden Hüftbewegungen der Sänger:innen, meist Mädchen, in Verbindung gebracht. Ayu Permata Sari lenkt ihre Beobachtung jedoch von der Bühne zu den Bewegungen des überwiegend männlichen Publikums in den örtlichen Dangdut-Clubs, um diese mit ihrem eigenen Körper zu „archivieren“. Sie versucht, die Dangdut-Grooves dieser männlichen Zuschauer zu lesen, die Ausdruck von Entspannung und sinnlicher Erfahrung zu sein scheinen. Sie begann sich zu fragen, was dieses Publikum eigentlich dazu bewegt, Dangdut-Aufführungen zu besuchen. Daraufhin führte sie eine Reihe von Interviews mit Zuschauern, von denen viele sagten, dass sie vor allem deshalb in Dangdut-Clubs gehen und tanzen, um der Eintönigkeit von Arbeit, Zuhause und Alltag zu entkommen. Daraufhin erforschte Ayu Permata Sari das Prinzip der „Liminoide“, das Victor Turners Konzept der „Liminalität“ (Übergangsphase, Schwellenzustand) vorkommt – danach sind Liminoide in der modernen Gesellschaft oft durch eine strikte Trennung zwischen Arbeit, Spiel, Spaß und Menschen innerhalb ihrer Gewohnheiten gekennzeichnet. Diese Art von Liminalität betrachtet das Element der menschlichen Bereitschaft als einen wichtigen Faktor. Man kann sagen, dass das Publikum, das zum Dangdut kommt oder tanzt, einen Transitraum betritt – eine Möglichkeit für das Individuum, den alltäglichen Problemen zu entkommen.

Neben den Beweggründen für die Teilnahme an der Dangdut-Show ermittelte Ayu Permata Sari auch den Hintergrund der Zuschauer, z. B. ihre Arbeit oder ihren Wohnort. Denn dieser ist wichtig und gibt Aufschluss darüber, wie sie sich bewegen. Einer der Dangdut-Zuschauer arbeitet zum Beispiel als Bauarbeiter und bewegt sich unbewusst so, als würde er mit einem Hammer einen Nagel einschlagen.

Diese Vorstellung beinhaltet schwächer werdendes Licht bis zu völliger Dunkelheit.

Bitte beachten: Diese Vorstellung findet im „Waschhaus“ des KUZ statt, eine Bar auf dem Kongressgelände, zu dem nur akkreditierte Kongressteilnehmer:innen Zugang haben. Für Akkreditierte ist kein Ticketerwerb und auch keine Anmeldung erforderlich.

Credits:

Choreografie und Performance: Ayu Permata Sari
Dramaturgie: BM. Anggana
Produzentin: Sekar Handayani
Musikalisches Arrangement: Jenar Kidjing