Skip navigation
Tanz Kongress 2022 | Mainz | Sharing potentials

War and Violence – What Can Dance Do?

With: Taigué Ahmed, Konrad Kurowski, Viktor Ruban | Moderation: Sylvia Fritzinger
Panel Special Topics
Sat 18.6. | 09:30 to 11:00 | KUZ Kulturzentrum Mainz – Lehrsaal
Language
Accessibility
EN
Barrierefrei

Lehrsaal

KUZ Kulturzentrum Mainz – Lehrsaal
Dagobertstraße 20b
55116 Mainz
Route (Google Maps)

"We all have so much to put on the table and to learn and to question otherwise we are doomed," says Ukrainian performer and cultural activist Viktor Ruban – a sentence that will be the leitmotif of this conversation.

On 24 February, Russia launched its war of aggression against Ukraine. Addresses of solidarity, strong visual and verbal reactions were important first signals - but how should things continue? What can help look like in practical terms, and what can art and dance do? In the last few months, we have all probably realised how little we know and how difficult it is to balance one's own attitude in the face of war and a heated climate of opinion. Information and communication are the main goals of this panel, it is about giving space and the floor to those who are very close to the terrible reality of war, violence and its consequences. And it will also be about what the confrontation with these realities means for the art form of dance – what dance can do?

We will be talking to Viktor Ruban, who will be joining us from Kyiv and who continues to work on his dance projects under the most difficult conditions as well as trying to help - especially artists from the independent scene in Ukraine. Konrad Kurowski from the Lublin Dance Theatre and the Centre for Culture in Lublin will report on how he and his colleagues have transformed a cultural institution into an aid organisation for the many Ukrainian refugees in a very short time - and now want to combine the two. Taigué Ahmed, co-founder and director of the organisation Ndam Se Na in N'Djamena, Chad, has a lot of experience in working with refugees, especially children and young people. He is the curator of the Transcendence module in Dance Congress 2022. Taigué Ahmed has been organising dance workshops in refugee camps in the south of Chad since 2005. "When someone dances and sings to the rhythm of the drums, their body surrenders and their head for a moment forgets what they have experienced," he says.

Participants

Zum Hauptinhalt

Diese Website verwendet Cookies für eine optimale Benutzererfahrung.
Lesen Sie unsere Cookie-Erklärung

Tanz Kongress 2022 | Mainz | Sharing potentials

War and Violence – What Can Dance Do?

Mit: Taigué Ahmed, Konrad Kurowski, Viktor Ruban | Moderation: Sylvia Fritzinger
Panel Special Topics
Sa. 18.6. | 09:30 bis 11:00 | KUZ Kulturzentrum Mainz – Lehrsaal
Sprache
Barrierefreiheit
EN
Barrierefrei

Lehrsaal

KUZ Kulturzentrum Mainz – Lehrsaal
Dagobertstraße 20b
55116 Mainz
Route (Google Maps)

„We all have so much to put on the table and to learn and to question otherwise we are doomed“, sagt der ukrainische Performer und Kulturaktivist Viktor Ruban – ein Satz, der Leitmotiv dieses Gesprächs sein soll.

Am 24. Februar begann Russland den Angriffskrieg gegen die Ukraine. Solidaritätsadressen, bild- und wortstarke Reaktionen waren wichtige erste Signale – aber wie soll es weitergehen? Wie kann zum einen Hilfe ganz praktisch aussehen und was kann Kunst, was kann zum anderen der Tanz grundsätzlich leisten? Uns allen ist in den letzten Monaten vermutlich klargeworden, wie wenig wir wissen und wie schwierig es ist, angesichts des Krieges und angesichts eines aufgeheizten Meinungsklimas die eigene Haltung zu balancieren. Information und Kommunikation sind die Hauptziele dieses Panels, es geht darum, denen Raum und das Wort zu geben, die sehr nah dran sind an der schrecklichen Wirklichkeit des Krieges, der Gewalt und ihren Folgen. Und es soll auch darum gehen, was die Auseinandersetzung mit diesen Realitäten für die Kunstform Tanz bedeutet – what dance can do?

Wir sprechen mit Viktor Ruban, der uns aus Kiew zugeschaltet sein wird und unter schwierigsten Bedingungen sowohl weiter an seinen Tanzprojekten arbeitet als auch zu helfen versucht – insbesondere Künstler:innen der freien Szene in der Ukraine. Konrad Kurowski vom Lublin Dance Theatre und dem Centre for Culture in Lublin wird berichten, wie er und seine Kolleg:innen in kürzester Zeit eine Kulturinstitution in eine Hilfsorganisation für die vielen ukrainischen Geflüchteten umgewandelt haben – und nun beides miteinander verbinden wollen. Viel Erfahrung in der Arbeit mit geflüchteten Menschen, insbesondere mit Kindern und Jugendlichen hat Taigué Ahmed, Mitgründer und Leiter der Organisation Ndam Se Na in N'Djamena im Tschad. Er ist Kurator des Moduls Transcendence im Tanzkongress 2022. Seit 2005 veranstaltet Taigué Ahmed Tanzworkshops in Flüchtlingscamps im Süden des Tschad. „Wenn jemand zum Rhythmus der Trommeln tanzt und singt, gibt sein Körper sich hin, und der Kopf vergisst einen Moment, was er erlebt hat“, sagt er.

Participants